DIY Hutch From a Bookshelf (Welcome 2013)

Guess who’s back????
I’ve taken a much needed social media break beginning early November and have had time to collect myself, re-connect with my offline social life, and gather direction for the new year!

My holiday season was wonderful, spent with those dearest to me. I dropped a rather large DIY-bomb on my family for Christmas in the form of their Christmas presents! It involved quite a few  profile pictures, and fabric paint and sewing! That blog post coming….. soon.

My NYE was spent with my BFF in Montana and my birthday (all too close to the holidays) was spent back in Seattle with my farm family and husband. What a great start to the New Year!

I ended up starting to gather my supplies for a project before Christmas, but had to put it on hold to make time to finish my DIY-bomb that I before mentioned. I had been pining for a hutch-something colorful, rustic, and with a vintage flare and I knew it must have chicken-wire doors! After many searches online, I thought I could make one. If  you’ve heard of Anna White, or visited her amazing site, you would be feeling just as empowered as I was. I decided to take a reality check and start with a smaller project. I decided to find a decent shelf, add the doors and then paint it to my liking.

I found this really simple shelf on Craigslist. I’m almost positive someone else made it by hand, re-using the wood, as a lot of the pieces have nail holes. Either way, it fit the bill; a little rustic, a shelf, an vintage -er- used flare.

photo

My husband ( I need to think of a code-name for him) and his BFF from high school who was visiting from San Diego, made simple door frames.

photo (1)

After the door frames were attached, we sanded away until they fit together with less friction. I didn’t sand them down to a perfect fit, but after staining them, they miraculously fit together perfectly. My guess? The wood absorbed the stain and shrunk a bit. After the doors were stained, I attached the chicken wire with a staple gun and then stained the shelf exterior.


photo (2)

We attached the doors and stood back to admire! We are only half way done with this project and have plans to paint the interior, except…. we can’t decide on a color. I think a glossy white and my husband agrees, but suggested we paint the back of the shelf a pop color! Baby steps…

photo (3)Until we make a decision… it will remain with the original interior, that I actually sort of like. It definitely fits the rustic theme.

Any suggestions on interior colors? Pantone color of the year?

~cg

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “DIY Hutch From a Bookshelf (Welcome 2013)

  1. […] We are hoping to pick a pop color for our shelf-turned-hutch. […]

  2. […] would love to collect these canisters for our hutch but I have already committed to glass jars with […]

  3. […] review my progress, shall we? G1 and I keep most of our books in our hutch we made a few years back. I made an attempt to keep it pretty and neat, but it did seem a little […]

Leave a Reply

