Tree House Curtains

We have an amazing apartment and we have an amazing landlord. I’m not sure which one was a more important factor in moving in, but either way, we love our place. We live above  a lake and have a view; not of the lake, but of the trees which is why we call it a tree house. Our last place in Montana, was also considered a tree house; the top level of a divided house. I’m sure our next place will have a tree theme too. A great aspect of living in our tree house, is the abundance of windows. We have an entire wall of windows with deck doors. We love all the natural light and the beautiful trees and the occasional views of the lake. The trees leaves put on a beautiful show for us as they begin to fade and fall.

Ever since we moved in, we have left the windows bare, not wanting to exclude our tree friends, and we loved how it made the apartment seem larger. The only downfall is at night because it’s a little creepy. I see shadows of thrashing tree branches and all our inside light reflects off the windows. I’m a total scaredy cat so I wanted curtains and convinced P I would do so without blocking out all our nature views and light. Not only did I want protection, but I wanted  our living room space to have a more finished look with window finishings.

Our wall of windows.

Notice the reflection of the light.

At first I thought white would be the answer as it would allow light through but still provide a little coverage. I made a trip to Ikea (where else!?) and picked out a pair of white curtains with a grey pattern (Cute, but not for us.) I was wrong.  We needed color and we needed to be true to our style. I admire all those beautifully white apartments but it’s just not our style. Not only was it not our style, but it completely disconnected us from our tree friends. We needed a style that could continue the flow into our house.

White lamp, white curtains, white socks.

Ikea trip #2. I opted for these bright green and blue curtains with leafy tree patterns. It was a perfect fit! Not only were they bright and the colors we have in our living room, but they also seemed like an extension of our view.P thought an entire wall of this pattern might be over-kill, so I used a velvet-like fabric I already had to enclose the curtains. We love the result and I love the privacy from our peeping tom trees at night.

cg

2 thoughts on “Tree House Curtains

  1. […] really like the bright blue in front of our tree house curtains. I do believe the handle is the final touch. Without it, it would seem so lifeless and […]

  2. […] And onto the window. I knew I wanted to hang the curtains near the ceiling to draw the eye up and create an illusion of a taller ceiling. I used the curtains and the hardware that we had purchased at Ikea for our last apartment. You can see the post here. […]

Leave a comment