A Table for Blue {Remodeled Sewing Table}

I have had this sewing table since 2005. I can remember finding it at Goodwillys and thinking I”d love to have it as a side table. It even had a sewing machine in it. Looking back now, I wish I would have at least plugged the sewing machine in to see if it worked. Shoulda, woulda, coulda. Instead I immediately sanded it and painted it white. Even in 2005, I was striving for white furniture and even in 2005, white furniture still wasn’t me so I opted for a bright orangey-red. And in 2012, it was time for a make over.

BEFORE!

Since I had the desk I only needed a few other supplies:

Sander (or Sand paper)

Primer

Paint (and/or Wood Stain)

Paint Brush

Painters Tape

Hardware ( We added a drawer pull from Home Depot for a little flair)

Time for a make over!

As always, always ….  always, I began by sanding. Thankfully, I had my Skil orbital sander on hand and it went by in no time!

Unearthing the layers!

As I began to sand, I discovered that the top of the sewing table was a wood grain veneer. After discovering the beauty of stained wood during my pallet coffee table project, I decided to stain the top and paint the rest. I was feeling a little courageous and decided I would stain the top of the legs as well. I will call these the side edges (makes sense, no?).

 After all my sanding was done, I taped off the areas I didn’t want painted and began to prime the rest.

Using my trusty Kilz Latex Primer ( I use it a lot) I painted 2 coats before I began painting the color.

I purchased samples of two different shades of blue at Home Depot. It was more than enough paint and it was only $3 for a sample.

I painted the entire desk with the dark blue and then taped off the middle inset and painted it a shade lighter.

After the blue areas were painted, I began to stain the areas I had left concealed. I began by opening the desk and painting the inside surfaces.

Once the inside had been stained and dried, I closed the desk and painted the top and side edges. It turns out having the sides stained as well as the top was awful! It made the entire top of the table seem too heavy. Having the skinny, light colored legs and then a dark, heavy top seemed wrong. So I quickly primed the edges and painted them blue as well. I was in such a disgusted haste, I didn’t take any photos (my bad!)

After I doctored up the table’s legs, I added the pull handle to the front center and I was done. I thought it turned out great and I learned my lesson on the importance of balancing color. This isn’t entirely true: it’s pretty obvious I love blue.

I really like the bright blue in front of our tree house curtains. I do believe the handle is the final touch. Without it, it would seem so lifeless and unfinished.

P.S.
I resorted to my iphone for final pictures. I apologize for the change!

~cg

Leave a comment